Games for Learning #2: Lumosity

Many online sites have designed games for folks to play. Some are rather robust, creating a detailed world for people to interact in. Others are simpler and offer more straightforward, mentally challenging games.

One such site is Lumosity. Lumosity can be played for free, or you can subscribe and get a wider array of features. In the free version, you register, and the program gives you a test to see where your cognitive strengths and weaknesses lie. Then it assigns five games a day for you, but you can only access the first, second, and fifth. The games vary significantly. Some are word-oriented. Those have you build words from a collection of available letters. Some check your mental agility by seeing how quickly you can identify whether a card you’re looking at is the same as the next one they show you. Others work on peripheral vision and recall.

(c) 2014 TheKarenD // Retrieved on this date from Flickr Creative Commons and used unchanged.
(c) 2014 TheKarenD // Retrieved on this date from Flickr Creative Commons and used unchanged.

There are a couple ways to use this in a class. First, the initial test could be used as a diagnostic to help students find their strengths and weaknesses in cognitive processing. Second, even the free version of the site tailors the games it chooses to the student’s skills.  When my mother and I were both playing from separate accounts, she often received a different selection of games than I did. The difficulty level was quite different, too.

The games start out pretty easy but then get more complicated as you reach higher scores. The system remembers your last effort, so the next time a game comes back around into your queue, it can start you just below where you ended the time before. That’s handy if you play every day, but I recently logged in after a several-month break, and I found the games more difficult than I remembered. I’m sure, though, that if I logged in every day again, I’d gain my skill set back up to where it was.

6 thoughts on “Games for Learning #2: Lumosity

  1. Your blog is very informative. Luminosity seems like a good game to record to those who are retired to keep their thought process going.

    Like

  2. I signed up for Lumosity a while ago but stopped playing because it did not feel it was tailored to me. Since it was the free version I assumed everyone received the same games. Since you confirmed it is geared towards the person I will have to try it again.

    Like

  3. Hi CKoepp, I think Lumosity can be used to keep my learners interested in a fun way while strengthening their cognitive processes. Having a game like Lumosity added to the sexual health module of my learners will hopefully give them the impression that the whole process is about having fun too. Thanks for sharing such a net game!

    Like

    1. It’s fun even in the “free” mode. There were a couple games I didn’t care for, like the penguin maze. By the time you reach the upper levels, the dumb maze is flipping around so fast, a person could get vertigo. O.o Most, though, are really a lot of fun.

      Like

Leave a Reply

